Second FIPADOC closes, awards top prize to The Human Factor

Second FIPADOC closes, awards top prize to The Human Factor

FIPADOC 2020 closed 25 January with a series of awards, all of which included cash prizes.


The UK film The Human Factor (Dror Moreh) won the Grand Prix International Documentary and a cash prize of €5000, awarded by the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region of France.


The Grand Prix French Documentary was given to Danser sa peine by Valérie Müller with a €5000 donated by Scam.


The Grand Prix Musical Documentary went to the Norwegian Once Aurora, directed by Stian Servoss and Benjamin Langeland (€5000).


Zohar Wagner’s 21 Days Inside (Israel) won the €5000 Grand Prix Impact, awarded to a film “which inspires change in the world”.


The INA Smart Award for digital (€3000) focusses on originality and the marriage of technology and storytelling, and was given to Traveling While Black (Canada), by Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël and Ayesha Nadarajah.


The March LA.B Short Doc Award (€3000) was won by Andre Hörmann and Anna Samo for Obon(Germany).


Jaan Stevens (Belgium) won the Erasmus+ New Talent prize for For Eunice (€3000).


The Audience Award (€3000) went to the Swiss Sous la peau (Robin Harsch) while The Prix Tënk went to Natalia Koniarz for The Dam (Poland).


Oscar Best Doc and Best Foreign-language film nominee Honeyland (North Macedonia) won the Mitrani Award for best first or second film (€3000).


The Casden Young European Jury Award (€1000) was picked up by Étienne Chaillou and Mathias Théry for La Cravate (France) while Camille Ducellier’s Chef-fe (France) won the €3000 Digital Storytelling Award.


The Best International Pitch award (€5000 in post-production services) went to the Belgium/Netherlands project DRAW FOR CHANGE!, directed by Vincent Coen and Guillaume Vandenberghe, while the Best French Pitch was made by Christine Tournadre for Natural Disasters: Mega-Regulators (€5000 in post-production services).


The final award was the best Regional First Film Pitch, won by Thomas Hirgorom for Les Passeurs d’Océan (France, €2000).