CPH:DOX unveils its 2020 competition titles

CPH:DOX unveils its 2020 competition titles

Vivos by Ai Weiwei

Leading international doc fest CPH:DOX announced its 2020 competition titles Feb 21. These include 43 world, 16 international and 6 European premieres across the festival’s 65-film selection. 


Following up on CPH:DOX’s ‘50/50 by 2020’ gender commitment, no less than 52% of the 65 titles are directed by one or more female directors. In addition, of the 409 experts and panel debate participants CPH:DOX has invited for its 160+ panel discussions and film events, 207 are women.


The main theme at CPH:DOX 2020 is dedicated to contemporary activism and to the social, political and cultural movements that shape  and change the times we live in. 



Strong personal expressions and cinematic quality are celebrated in the festival’s main competition, DOX:AWARD, where 14 films are selected from across the world. 


A Shape of Things to Come, JP Sniadecki & Lisa Marie Malloy, USA, world premiere

Bitter Love, Jerzy Sladkowski, Sweden, world premiere

Caught in the Net, Vit Klusak & Barbora Chulipová, Czech Republic, world premiere

Dick Johnson is Dead, Kirsten Johnson, USA, international premiere

The Dissident, Bryan Fogel, USA, international premiere

Ecstasy, Moara Passoni, Brazil, world premiere

Epicentro, Hubert Sauper, Austria, European premiere

I Walk on Water, Khalik Allah, USA, international premiere

The Fight for Greenland, Kenneth Sorento, Denmark/Greenland, world premiere

Long Live Love, Sine Skibsholt, Denmark, world premiere

No Kings, Emilia Mello, Brazil, world premiere

Mon Amour, David Teboul, France, world premiere

Oeconomia, Carmen Losmann, Germany, international premiere

Songs of Repression, E. Wagner & Marianne Hougen-Moraga, Denmark, world premiere



In this competition section, the festival presents 14 artists’ films, shorts and features. 


Ocean of Love, Alexa Karolinski & Ingo Niermann, Germany, world premiere

Welcome Palermo, Masbedo, Italy, international premiere

Mother’s Tongue, Wingyee Wu & Lap-See Lam, Sweden, world premiere (festival) (short)

Clay Theory, Amalie Smith, Denmark, world premiere (festival) (short)

Subject to Review, Theo Anthony, USA, European premiere (short)

The Undertaker, Yael Bartana, Israel, world premiere (festival) (short)

Beast Type Song, Sophia Al-Maria, Qatar, USA, world premiere (festival) (short)

Untitled Sequence of Gaps, Vika Kirchenbauer, Germany, international premiere

If Your Heart Wants It (Remix), Pilvi Takala, Finland, international premiere

LOLOLOL, Kurdwin Ayub, Austria, world premiere

Garage, Luis Ortega Govela & Olivia Erlanger, USA, Mexico, world premiere

Detour, Mario Valero, France, international premiere

The Seismic Form, Antoinette Swirchmayr, Austria, world premiere

South, Morgan Quaintance, UK, world premiere



The F:ACT AWARD is dedicated to films that lie in the field between documentary filmmaking, investigative journalism and activism. 


Wood, Ebba Sinzinger, Monica Lazurean-Gorgan, Michaela Kirst, Austria, world premiere

Meet the Censors, Håvard Fossum, Norway, world premiere

Blasphemy, Mohamed Naqvi, Pakistan, world premiere

Ayouni, Yasmin Fedda, UK, Qatar, world premiere

Jozi Gold, Frederik Gertten, Sylvia Vollenhofer, Sweden, international premiere

Vivos, Ai Weiwei, Germany, European premiere

Dope is Death, Mia Donovan, Canada, European premiere

Only the Devil lives Without Hope, Magnus Gertten, Sweden, world premiere

We Hold the Line, Marc Wiese, Germany, world premiere

The Social Dilemma, Jeff Orlowski, USA, international premiere



The 12 films in this competition sectionare a careful selection of documentaries from the Nordic countries, reflecting the diversity in films with a clear vision and a personal touch. 


A Colombian Family, Tanja Wol Sørensen, Denmark, world premiere

Being Eriko, Jannik Splidsboel, Denmark, world premiere

Inside the Diamond, Viktor Johansson, Sweden, international premiere

Journey to Utopia, Erlend E. Mo, Denmark, world premiere

Maddy the Model, Jane Magnusson, Sweden,world premiere

Reunited, Mira Jargil, Denmark, world premiere

Show Dancer, Laurits Flensted-Jensen, Denmark, world premiere

Själö – Island of Souls, Lotte Petronella, Finland, world premiere

Television Without Frontiers, Andjeas Ejiksson, Sweden, international premiere

The Beautiful Game, Olof Berglind, Sweden, world premiere

The Beloved Daughter, Tiina Madisson, Finland, world premiere

We Are Here Now, Mariken Halle, Norway, international premiere



Emerging filmmakers from around the world are competing for the NEXT:WAVE Award for both shorts and features. 


A New Beginning, Ala’A Mohsen, Denmark, world premiere

Areum Married, Areum Parkkang, South Korea, international premiere

Dear Joel, Thanasis Trouboukis, Greece, world premiere (short)

Errans, Mira Adoumier, Mira Adoumier, Lebanon, world premiere

Garage People, Natalija Yefimkina, Germany, world premiere

Mayor, David Osit, USA, international premiere

Mullah’s Daughter, Mahdieh adat Mirhabibi, Iran, UK, European premiere

Once Upon a Time in Venezuela, Anabel Rodriguez Rios, Austria, Venezuela, European premiere

Rendezvous, Ernst Skoog, Sweden, world premiere (short)

Retreat, Joeri Verbesselt, Belgium, world premiere (short)

Return to Epipo, Judit Oláh, Hungary, World Premiere

The Garden of Calabria, René Georg Johansen, Jacob Krzysztof Glogowski, Denmark, World Premiere (short)

The Republics, Huw Wahl, UK, World Premiere

The Soldier, Nikolaj Møller, Denmark, World Premiere

Trouble, Mariah Garnett, UK/US, International Premiere

Sisters with Transistors, Lisa Rovner, France, European Premiere


The festival’s ‘An Evening with… features luminaries such as Werner Herzog, Edward Snowden, Jonathan Safran Foer and former EU commisioner Connie Hedegaard.


In less than five years, the festival’s CPH:SCIENCE programme has turned into one of the most prominent premiere platforms for science films. The 2020 programme will present 15 feature films of which an impressive number of 11 are either world or international premieres, making CPH:DOX the major documentary festival for science film, the festival claims.